12th Annual 24-Hour Video Race New Divisions Announced

The 12th Annual 24-Hour Video Race, presented by The Video Association of Dallas, will commence at the Angelika Film Center in Mockingbird Station at 11:59 p.m. on Friday, May 10, and end 24 hours later at 11:59 p.m. on Saturday, May 11. The Angelika Film Center is at 5321 E. Mockingbird Ln. There will be 3 new divisions in 2013: Rock Around the Clock (music videos), Doc Around the Clock (documentaries), and an all-mobile device division. 

Dallas film and video makers of all levels of experience are invited to participate in the race, both creatively and literally.  Teams that do not make it to the finish line at midnight will not be included in the judging, All teams will be assigned four critical elements: one theme, one prop, one location and one line of dialogue.

Anyone with a camera and the willingness to race can participate. Past teams have included elementary school students to professional filmmakers.  Student teams compete against other student teams, and adult teams are categorized by team size rather than skill level.

New Divisions

Rock Around the Clock: 

This year there is a new division: music videos.  Five bands by will be selected by the KXT staff and matched with 5 video crews selected by Video Association of Dallas. Each team, assigned a band, will be given access to a venue to record them performing live on Saturday, May 11. The team will turn in their finished video with everyone else at the Angelika on May 11 by 11:59 p.m. Interested team must submit their reels by April 26.  
$75 Limit 5 teams

Doc Around the Clock:

Doc Around the Clock is the new category for creating a documentary video. Film-making teams from around North Texas will have 3 days of 8 hours a day (during the day on May 8, 9, and 10) for a total of 24 hours access to a subject assigned by the Video Association of Dallas.  The team then has to make a documentary about the subject to be turned in with the other teams by Saturday, May 11 at 11:59 pm.
$125  Limit 5 teams

All-Mobile Device Division:

The same rules as the 24-Hour Video Race with the requirement added that the entire film has to be shot and edited on a smart phone or tablet. $75


Video Race Classic Divisions

The 24-Hour Video Race’s teams Classic Divisions five categories remain:

Pixelvision            K-12 Teams

Futurevision         Current College/University students and recent graduates

Auteur                 Professional or amateur teams of a single member

Guerilla                Professional or Amateur teams of 3 to 5 members

Hollywood            Professional or Amateur teams of 6 or more members



The screenings of the work of all the entrants will be Tuesday-Thursday, May 14-16 with the finalists screened on Monday, May 20 at the Angelika Film Center.  The winning videos will be shown on KERA –TV Channel 13’s program “Frame of Mind,” on the website, and on You+Media Dallas site.  Team members should bring Race badges for admission to the screenings. (This includes teams who did not finish the Race.) Members of the general public can also attend. Admission is $5 for adults and $3 for children 12 and under. The screening schedule will be posted Monday, May 13. 

Sponsored by

Texas Commission on the Art

Office of Cultural Affairs Dallas

Dallas Film Commission

Race Angels

AMS Pictures

Abernethy Media Professionals

Ditore Mayo Entertainment

Dallas Producers Association



The mission of the Video Association of Dallas, the 501(c)(3) is to promote an understanding of video as a creative medium and cultural force in our society, and to support and advance the work of Texas artists working in video and the electronic arts.  VAD serves its mission through exhibition, education, information, service and advocacy. Video Association of Dallas presents the 24-Hour Video Race and other programs throughout the year.

Written By
More from Dev Shapiro
DIFF 2013 Red Carpet: MUD
Selig Film News interviews the filmmakers from the film MUD at the...
Read More
0 replies on “12th Annual 24-Hour Video Race New Divisions Announced”