12th Annual 24-Hour Video Race Winners Announced

The 12th annual 24-Hour Video Race ended Monday night, May 20, with teams piled into the Angelika Film Center-Dallas for final judging. 

Bart Weiss, Video Association of Dallas’ Artistic Director, said, “I was amazed at the level of creativity in the city from such a diverse group of filmmakers. From nearly every sector of the city, and from various age groups, the ways these makers reinterpreted our prompts were inspiring.”

“It is amazing what can these teams can create in just 24 hours, and it was a tough job for our judges to evaluate them,” Weiss concluded. “There were twice as many high school teams in the past 2 years with 24 teams competing, comprised of more than 125 kids, in the student division, Pixelvision. Some came from as far away as Mansfield.”

The finals judges were broken up in to two shifts this year.  The judges for Pixelvision (High School), Futurevision (College) and Auteur (a single member) categories included Casey Gooden, producer of UPSTREAM COLOR and PRIMER; CultureMap Dallas’ associate arts and entertainment editor, Alex Bentley; Steve Alford, president of Alford Media Services, Inc.; and Lee Papert, President and CEO of the Dallas Film Society.

Judging the Guerilla (2-5 members) and Hollywood (6-plus members) categories were Angie Bolling, "Mrs. Robocop" in all three ROBOCOP movies; Erin Prather Stafford, executive producer of the winner of VideoFest 25 Documentary: WONDER WOMEN! THE UNTOLD STORY OF AMERICAN SUPERHEROINES; Ya’ke Smith, award-winning filmmaker of WOLF, and Paul Salfen, Dallas-based editor and media entrepreneur, host of “Drew Pearson Show” on Fox Sports, managing editor of Flavorpill Dallas, and the entertainment and travel editor for ScoreBoard.


The participants had 24 hours to make a video, which was required to include the following elements:

Theme – Recycling

Prop – Phone Book

Line of Dialogue – “Ask not what your country can do for you; ask what you can do for your country.”

Location – B_G: the Dallas Convention & Visitors Bureau’s new brand campaign recognizing locals as the catalyst behind making "BIG Things Happen in Dallas." 


2013 Dallas 24-Hour Video Race results:

(Videos can be viewed on http://www.24hourvideorace.com/)


Pixelvision (high school category)

1st: Space Team

2nd: Cinemazing

3rd: The Snowdeckers


Honorable Mentions

Mansfield Film Crew

Team Pistol Poppers


Futurevision (College category)

1st: GDV

2nd:Furious Films

3rd: Atomic Production


Auteur (1-team member category)

1st: Knockaround Guy

2nd: Solera Visuals

3rd: Daddy Daughter Day Off Productions


Guerilla (3-5 Team Members category)

1st: The Fightin' Cobras

2nd: Strangers With Cameras

3rd: SWAMP


Hollywood (6+ Team Members category)

1st: Panther City Pictures

2nd: 80's Children

3rd: SmokingCrayolas


Special Directors Prize

Kings & Cults-mobile video

Sinha Creative-music video


Special Mention:

Video Association of Dallas board chair, Jeff Leuschel, was so impressed with Glitter Sandwich’s director Kayla Cesari’s film that Leuschel has offered to sponsor her team next year as their Race Angel. Leuschel compared her work to German New Wave director, Wim Wenders.

Written By
More from Dev Shapiro
A FATHER’S LEGACY – In Theaters for One-Night Only
  After a great reception on the festival circuit, Cinedigm and Fathom...
Read More
0 replies on “12th Annual 24-Hour Video Race Winners Announced”