2015 Dallas International Film Festival Audience and Jury Award Winners

From the opening night, with lovely Blythe Danner, of DIFF 2015 to the closing weekend SeligFilmNews.com has had the chance to speak with nearly every filmmaker either on the Red Carpet or in the Studio.  Last night the DFS Honors handed out some amazing Star, Audience and Jury awards.  Click through for the list of winners AND corresponding Red Carpet & Studio Interviews.

"The Dallas Film Society has announced the winners of the 9th Annual Dallas International Film Festival’s competition series. This year’s Festival, presented by AutoNation, features 169 films representing 32 countries, with a total of 18 premieres including 11 World Premieres, three North American Premieres and four US Premieres.

Grand Jury Awards and Special Jury Prizes were presented for the Narrative Feature Competition, Short Film Competition and Texas Feature Competition during Dallas Film Society Honors, co-presented by the Arthur E. Benjamin Foundation, Sheri Deterling, Geoff Hawkes and the Highland Dallas, at The Highland Dallas. Grand Jury Awards were also given for the Documentary Feature Competition, Animated Short Competition and Student Short Competition."


Narrative Feature Competition Grand Jury Award

RADIATOR (United Kingdom)

Director: Tom Browne

Cast: Richard Johnson; Gemma Jones; Daniel Cerqueira

A dark, difficult comedy concerning the middle aged Daniel who returns home to help his elderly parents, Leonard and Maria who live in squalor, eccentrically.

Narrative Feature Competition Special Jury Prize, Ensemble Acting

ECHOES OF WAR (USA) – World premiere

Director: Kane Senes  Writer: John Chriss

Cast: James Badge Dale; Ethan Embry; William Forsythe; Maika Monroe

"Receiving the Special Jury Prize for Ensemble Acting in a Narrative Feature is ECHOES OF WAR, directed by Kane Senes."

Narrative Feature Competition Special Jury Prize, Cinematography

SOME BEASTS (USA) – World Premiere

Director: Cameron Nelson  DP: Hutch.

Cast: Frank Mosley; Lindsay Burdge; Heather Kafka

"The Special Jury Prize winner for Cinematography in a Narrative Feature is SOME BEASTS, directed by Cameron Nelson and cinematography by Hutch."

Documentary Feature Competition Grand Jury Award


Director: Ben Powell  Producer: Dave Schachter

"Taking home the Grand Jury Award in the Documentary Feature Competition is BARGE, directed by Ben Powell."

Short Film Competition Grand Jury Award

THE CHICKEN (Germany/Croatia)

Director: Una Gunjak

The day-to-day life of a six-year-old girl growing up during unstable times in Sarajevo is shaken up when a chicken joins her family.

Short Film Competition Special Jury Prizes


Director: Kitty Green

Adorned in pink sequins, little girls from across a divided, war-torn Ukraine audition to play the role of gold medal-winning figure skater Oksana Baiul, whose tears of joy once united their troubled country.


Director: Ya’Ke Smith

"Special Jury Awards went to THE FACE OF UKRAINE: CASTING OKSANA BAIUL, directed by Kitty Green, and ONE HITTA QUITTA, directed by Ya’Ke Smith."

Student Short Film Competition Grand Jury Award


Director: Natasha Raheja

The Student Short Film Competition Award winner is CAST IN INDIA, directed by NYU student Natasha Raheja.

Animated Short Film Competition Award


Director: Don Hertzfeldt

A little girl is taken on a mind-bending tour of her distant future.

Texas Film Competition Grand Jury Award


Director: Michael Cohn

Cast: Luke Kleintank; Dermot Mulroney; Melora Walters; Austin Abrams; Brandon Smith; Lewis Tan

The winner of the Texas Film Competition and a camera package rental valued at $30,000, presented by Panavision, is SACRIFICE, directed by Michael Cohn.

Texas Film Competition Special Jury Prize

THE LOVE INSIDE (USA) – World Premiere

Director: Andy Irvine; Mark Smoot

Cast: Zachary Knighton; Joey Kern; Kat Foster; Betsy Phillips; Bryon Brown; Ashley Spillers; Indigo Rael

"A Special Jury Prize for Ensemble Performance was awarded to THE LOVE INSIDE, directed by Andy Irvine and Mark Smoot."

Silver Heart Award


Director: Alexandria Bombach; Mo Scarpelli

"Receiving the Silver Heart Award and a $10,000 cash prize was FRAME BY FRAME, directed by Alexandria Bombach and Mo Scarpelli. The Silver Heart Award was selected by the Embrey Family Foundation and presented to Bombach and Scarpelli in honor of their dedication to fighting injustices and creating social change for the improvement of humanity through their film.

Narrative Feature Audience Award


Director: Tim Skousen  Producer:  Jeremy Coon (GO BERKNER RAMS!!)

Cast: Alex Peters; Gavin Howe; Tanner Beard; Tom Nowicki; Hadley Eure

"The Audience Award winner for Narrative Feature is THUNDER BROKE THE HEAVENS by Tim Skousen."

Documentary Feature Audience Award


Director: Dana Nachman

On one day, in one city, the world comes together to grant one 5 year old cancer patient his wish. BATKID BEGINS: THE WISH HEARD AROUND THE WORLD looks at the ‘why’ of this flash phenomenon. Why did the intense outpouring of spontaneous support for a child reverberate around the world and become one of the biggest ‘good news stories’ ever?

Short Film Audience Award


Director: James Johnston Producer: Red Sanders

Marcus is dealing with some serious shit but he can't seem to talk to anyone about it.

"Receiving the Audience Award for Best Short Film is MELVILLE, directed by James M. Johnston."

For all the Red Carpet and Studio Interviews go, here.

All press release information, in Italics, is courtesy of the Dallas Film Society, Dallas International Film Festival and Levenson Group.

Written By
More from Gadi Elkon
PRECONCEIVED – Interview with Kate Dumke and Sabrine Keane
SXSW 2024 begins this Thursday March 7th and runs through March 16th....
Read More
0 replies on “2015 Dallas International Film Festival Audience and Jury Award Winners”