Dallas VideoFest 27 Ernie Kovacs Award – Harry Shearer

Harry Shearer receives the Ernie Kovacs award from the Dallas VideoFest in Dallas, Texas on Oct 17, 2014.

The Kovacs Award recognizes the career and talents of some of television’s greatest visionaries. Ernie Kovacs’ work in the 1950s and early 1960s summed up the spirit of innovation and the development of the language of television art.

The Dallas Video Festival and the Video Association of Dallas announced the first Ernie Kovacs Award at the 1997 Festival. Comedian Joel Hodgson of “Mystery Science 3000” was the first recipient and subsequent annual honorees include “Monty Python’s” Terry Gilliam; “Saturday Night Live” and “Late Night with Conan O’Brien” writer/performer, Robert Smigel; Paul (“Pee-wee Herman”) Reubens; Martin Mull; Texas’ own, Mike Judge; and “Rowan & Martin’s Laugh-In” creator, George Schlatter.


0 replies on “Dallas VideoFest 27 Ernie Kovacs Award – Harry Shearer”