FSLC Unveils 54th NYFF Poster Design

NYFF 54 Poster by Apichatpong Weerasethakul


The Film Society of Lincoln Center unveiled today the poster for the 54th New York Film Festival (September 30 – October 16), designed by acclaimed filmmaker Apichatpong Weerasethakul. NYFF posters are looked upon as a yearly artistic “signature” for the film festival, and Weerasethakul joins a stellar lineup of artists whose work has been commissioned for the festival, including Andy Warhol, Roy Lichtenstein, David Hockney, Julian Schnabel, Cindy Sherman, and last year’s artist, Laurie Anderson.

“Apichatpong Weerasethakul is more than just a ‘logical’ choice to do our poster—he’s one of the world’s greatest filmmakers and he works in the visual arts,” said New York Film Festival Director Kent Jones. “I knew that he would send us something extraordinary: a beautifully wrought, self-contained little world. The more you concentrate on the image, the more detail you see, and the further your dream extends. The NYFF has had many great posters designed by a long list of great artists, but this is one of the very best.”

The renowned Thai filmmaker and artist, whose works deal with memory and subtly address personal politics and social issues, has had a fruitful relationship with the New York Film Festival for over a decade. Four of his films have been selected for the official NYFF lineup: Tropical Malady (2004), Syndromes and a Century (2006), the Palme d’Or–winning Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives (2010), and Cemetery of Splendor (2015). In 2002, Apichatpong’s debut narrative feature Blissfully Yours won the Un Certain Regard prize at the Cannes Film Festival.

Along with his features, Apichatpong is known for his short films and art installations. His work has been featured in exhibitions across the globe, including solo shows at the New Museum in New York, the National Museum of Modern Art in Paris, the Irish Museum of Modern Art, the Munich Film Museum, and many more. His art prizes include the Sharjah Biennial Prize (2013), the prestigious Yanghyun Prize (2014) in South Korea, and the Thai Ministry of Culture’s Silpatorn Award (2005).

The poster will be available for purchase at all venues during the New York Film Festival, September 30 – October 16.

The complete list of NYFF poster artists:

  • Larry Rivers, 1963
  • Saul Bass, 1964
  • Bruce Conner, 1965
  • Roy Lichtenstein, 1966
  • Andy Warhol, 1967
  • Henry Pearson, 1968
  • Marisol (Escobar), 1969
  • James Rosenquist, 1970
  • Frank Stella, 1971
  • Josef Albers, 1972
  • Niki de Saint Phalle, 1973
  • Jean Tinguely, 1974
  • Carol Summers, 1975
  • Allan D’Arcangelo, 1976
  • Jim Dine, 1977
  • Richard Avedon, 1978
  • Michelangelo Pistoletto, 1979
  • Les Levine, 1980
  • David Hockney, 1981
  • Robert Rauschenberg, 1982   
  • Jack Youngerman, 1983
  • Robert Breer, 1984
  • Tom Wesselmann, 1985
  • Elinor Bunin, 1986
  • Sol Lewitt, 1987
  • Milton Glaser, 1988
  • Jennifer Bartlett, 1989
  • Eric Fischl, 1990
  • Philip Pearlstein, 1991
  • William Wegman, 1992
  • Sheila Metzner, 1993
  • William Copley, 1994
  • Diane Arbus, 1995
  • Juan Gatti, 1996
  • Larry Rivers, 1997
  • Martin Scorsese, 1998
  • Ivan Chermayeff, 1999
  • Tamar Hirschl, 2000
  • Manny Farber, 2001
  • Julian Schnabel, 2002
  • Junichi Taki, 2003
  • Jeff Bridges, 2004
  • Maurice Pialat, 2005
  • Mary Ellen Mark, 2006
  • agnès b., 2007
  • Robert Cottingham, 2008
  • Gregory Crewdson, 2009
  • John Baldessari, 2010
  • Lorna Simpson, 2011
  • Cindy Sherman, 2012
  • Tacita Dean, 2013
  • Laurie Simmons, 2014
  • Laurie Anderson, 2015
Written By
More from Dev Shapiro
TCM & Macy’s Bringing MIRACLE ON 34TH STREET to NYC
  Turner Classic Movies (TCM) and Macy's are once again bringing Christmas...
Read More
0 replies on “FSLC Unveils 54th NYFF Poster Design”